Class Contacts:

Peter Frissell – President president@finnusa.org
Darrell Peck – Honorary president  darrell.peck@gmail.com
Glenn Selvin – Treasurer  treasurer@finnusa.org
Rodion Mazin – Secretary  secretary@finnusa.org
Marcus Ward – Webmaster webmaster@finnusa.org
Terry Greenfield – Chief Measurer measurer@finnusa.org

USAFA Regions

Rob Coutts – So Cal  socal@finnusa.org
Michael Kennedy – Nor Cal norcal@finnusa.org
Marcus Ward – Mountain  rockymountain@finnusa.org
James Bland – Texas  texas@finnusa.org
Peter Frissell – Midwest  midwest@finnusa.org
Paul Rees – South  south@finnusa.org
Al Marshall – East  east@finnusa.org

Upcoming 2019 dates:       2019 Schedule            2020 Schedule

Oct 19-20: Jack Dane Finn Regatta, Pass Christian Yacht Club, Pass Christian, MS                 Oct 26-27: Centerboard Regatta/Finn Texas Blue Chip (event site)

News

October 2019 USAFA Rankings

The October 2019 rankings are posted. Please contact the class secretary to update your profile picture or if you notice other discrepancies. Rankings page Scored Regattas: Type 1: North American Championship, 2018 Gold Cup, 2019 European Championship, Miami World Cup, USA National Championship Type 2: 2019 CORK OCR, 2019 PCCs, Great Lakes Championship, Gulf Coast

0 comments

Louie Akos Nady Memorial

Please Join the Nady family to celebrate the life of Louie Akos Nady on Sunday, November 3, 2019, 12 pm to 4 pm at Starting Line Room, St. Francis Yacht Club, 700 Marina Blvd., San Francisco, California. As was requested by Louie’s family, USAFA will retire his sail number USA 150. Rest in peace Louie.

0 comments

Travel Grant Program

We are proud to announce a new USAFA Travel Grant Program. This program is tailored to help young Finn sailors to travel and participate in Finn regattas around North America. All the USAFA members in good standing who didn’t reach their 26th birthday on the first day of the eligible event may apply for a

0 comments

This is the home of the North American Finn Sailing where you will find our race calendar, information on regattas, sailing technique and advice, a forum & marketplace plus all the info you need to start Finn sailing.

The Finn is an outstanding boat originally designed by Rickard Sarby for a contest to find a boat for Scandinavian sailing and the 1952 Olympics.  Since then it has been featured in every Olympics.

An outstanding technical boat that favors boat handling and tactics over straight line speed.  With the unlimited pumping downwind in over 10 kts, it is a truly physical boat that rewards the athlete willing to work hard.

Most dinghies are built for smaller stature people but not so the Finn.  The Finn is a big man’s boat with average crew weight over 200 lbs.

The great attraction of the Finn is that you don’t need a brand new boat to be competitive – top regattas are regularly won by 10-yr-old boats.

A growing route in for sailors on a budget is the ‘Classic with Carbon’ option – any pre-1985 hull super-charged with a second-hand modern rig. Classic boats are warmly welcomed at all NA Finn Class events and are often seen in the top 10 with the Modern Race Boats.