Class Contacts:

Peter Frissell – President president@finnusa.org
Darrell Peck – Honorary president  darrell.peck@gmail.com
Glenn Selvin – Treasurer  treasurer@finnusa.org
Rodion Mazin – Secretary  secretary@finnusa.org
Marcus Ward – Webmaster webmaster@finnusa.org
Terry Greenfield – Chief Measurer measurer@finnusa.org

                       USAFA Regions

Rob Coutts – So Cal  socal@finnusa.org
Michael Kennedy – Nor Cal norcal@finnusa.org
Marcus Ward – Mountain  rockymountain@finnusa.org
James Bland – Texas  texas@finnusa.org
Will Libcke (acting) – Midwest  midwest@finnusa.org
Noel Miller (acting) – South  south@finnusa.org
Al Marshall – East  east@finnusa.org

Upcoming 2020 dates:

Miami Finn Winter Series (Third)

Date: February 1, 2020

Location: Coconut Grove Sailing Club

| |

Miami Finn Winter Series (Third)

Miami Finn Winter Series organized by the Coconut Grove Sailing Club. POC: Dave Martin at davem@gapps.manageinc.com

FINN WINTER SERIES

SATURDAY     JAN 4

SATURDAY     JAN 18

SATURDAY     FEB 1

SATURDAY      FEB 29

FRI/SAT/SUN    MARCH 6/7/8  (Miami Sail Week)

SATURDAY      MARCH 14

SCYA Finn Midwinters West

Start date: February 15, 2020

End date: February 16, 2020

Location: MBYC

|

SCYA Finn Midwinters West

News

World Sailing Cup Miami – update

Caleb Paine (USA 6) in the lead before the medal race, with Kyle Martin (CAN 2) and Luke Muller (USA 91) 20 points behind. Juan Perez Soltero (MEX 1) moved into the 8th place with 58 points securing a spot at the Olympic Games or Mexico. Photos by Robert Stevens

0 comments

Registration now open for Sarasota Midwinters

Registration is open for 2020 One Design Midwinters that will also combine Florida State Championship. USA Finn Association has located a perpetual trophy for the Finn Florida State Championship. We will put the trophy to good use and will be waiting for the next Champion’s name to be engraved on it in March! Register today

0 comments

World Sailing Cup Miami – Day 1

The World Sailing Cup Miami started today with a moderate breeze and small chop. Caleb Paine (USA 6) scored two bullets in two races and is on the way to secure an Olympic spot over Luke Muller (USA 91). Caleb is followed by Georgii Paches (UKR 573) and Kyle Martin (CAN 2). Tomorrow forecasting 14

0 comments

Finns Sail SDYC New Years Day Race

San Diego, Cal – Nine Finns signed up for the SDYC New Years Day Race with sunny skies treating the fleet that shook off the New Years’ Eve cobwebs and made it out on beautiful San Diego bay. Even though the line was quite long to accommodate some of the 75+ larger yachts including 12

0 comments

2020 Membership Dues

On behalf of the USA Finn Association (USAFA) I wanted to thank you for your continued support of our organization. We hit some record numbers in 2019, with over 90 members, and over 30 boats on the starting line at USA National and North American Championships. A quick recap of 2019: we finally started printing

0 comments

This is the home of the North American Finn Sailing where you will find our race calendar, information on regattas, sailing technique and advice, a forum & marketplace plus all the info you need to start Finn sailing.

The Finn is an outstanding boat originally designed by Rickard Sarby for a contest to find a boat for Scandinavian sailing and the 1952 Olympics.  Since then it has been featured in every Olympics.

An outstanding technical boat that favors boat handling and tactics over straight line speed.  With the unlimited pumping downwind in over 10 kts, it is a truly physical boat that rewards the athlete willing to work hard.

Most dinghies are built for smaller stature people but not so the Finn.  The Finn is a big man’s boat with average crew weight over 200 lbs.

The great attraction of the Finn is that you don’t need a brand new boat to be competitive – top regattas are regularly won by 10-yr-old boats.

A growing route in for sailors on a budget is the ‘Classic with Carbon’ option – any pre-1985 hull super-charged with a second-hand modern rig. Classic boats are warmly welcomed at all NA Finn Class events and are often seen in the top 10 with the Modern Race Boats.

Share this