Class Contacts:

Peter Frissell – President president@finnusa.org
Darrell Peck – Honorary president  darrell.peck@gmail.com
Glenn Selvin – Treasurer  treasurer@finnusa.org
Rodion Mazin – Secretary  secretary@finnusa.org
Marcus Ward – Webmaster webmaster@finnusa.org
Terry Greenfield – Chief Measurer measurer@finnusa.org

USAFA Regions

Rob Coutts – So Cal  socal@finnusa.org
Michael Kennedy – Nor Cal norcal@finnusa.org
Marcus Ward – Mountain  rockymountain@finnusa.org
James Bland – Texas  texas@finnusa.org
Peter Frissell – Midwest  midwest@finnusa.org
Paul Rees – South  south@finnusa.org
Al Marshall – East  east@finnusa.org

Upcoming 2019 dates:       2019 Schedule            2020 Schedule

September 14-15: PCC, San Diego Yacht Club, San Diego, CA (Registration link)
Oct 5-6: Finn Gulf Coast Championships, Buccaneer YC, Mobile, AL (Registration link) (Current Entries)
Oct 19-20: Jack Dane Finn Regatta, Pass Christian Yacht Club, Pass Christian, MS

News

2019 Pacific Coast Championship

2019 Finn Pacific Coast Championship is scheduled to start on the 14th of September. Light winds not exceeding 6-8knots are forecasted. There are currently 19 entries. Don’t forget that PCC is a World Sailing 50 point event (link). Registration site.

0 comments

2019 North American Championship

The 2019 Finn North American Championship event was held August 23-25 in San Diego, CA. The championship was hosted by Mission Bay Yacht Club on the ocean venue off Mission Beach on the Pacific Ocean. Eight races were sailed over the three day regatta. Thirty-three sailors from around the USA and Canada competed for the

0 comments

San Diego Olympic Classes Regatta

San Diego, Calif. – Sixteen Finns signed up for the 2nd Annual San Diego Yach Club (SDYC) Olympic Classes regatta. SDYC hosted a three-course venue and entertained over 120 sailors and 80 boats over the three day weekend which coincided with the Snipe North American Championship. Saturday’s conditions were near perfect with blue skies, deep

0 comments

This is the home of the North American Finn Sailing where you will find our race calendar, information on regattas, sailing technique and advice, a forum & marketplace plus all the info you need to start Finn sailing.

The Finn is an outstanding boat originally designed by Rickard Sarby for a contest to find a boat for Scandinavian sailing and the 1952 Olympics.  Since then it has been featured in every Olympics.

An outstanding technical boat that favors boat handling and tactics over straight line speed.  With the unlimited pumping downwind in over 10 kts, it is a truly physical boat that rewards the athlete willing to work hard.

Most dinghies are built for smaller stature people but not so the Finn.  The Finn is a big man’s boat with average crew weight over 200 lbs.

The great attraction of the Finn is that you don’t need a brand new boat to be competitive – top regattas are regularly won by 10-yr-old boats.

A growing route in for sailors on a budget is the ‘Classic with Carbon’ option – any pre-1985 hull super-charged with a second-hand modern rig. Classic boats are warmly welcomed at all NA Finn Class events and are often seen in the top 10 with the Modern Race Boats.