Class Contacts:

Peter Frissell – President president@finnusa.org
Glenn Selvin – Treasurer  treasurer@finnusa.org
Rodion Mazin – Secretary  secretary@finnusa.org
Marcus Ward - Webmaster webmaster@finnusa.org
Terry Greenfield - Chief Measurer measurer@finnusa.org

USAFA Regions

Michael Dorgan – So Cal  socal@finnusa.org
Michael Kennedy- Nor Cal norcal@finnusa.org
Marcus Ward – Mountain  rockymountain@finnusa.org
James Bland - Texas  texas@finnusa.org
Will Libke – Midwest  midwest@finnusa.org
Noel Miller – South  south@finnusa.org
Stephen Smeulders – East  east@finnusa.org

Upcoming Events

Finn Tune-Up Regatta

Start date: July 30, 2021

End date: August 1, 2021

Location: Canandaigua, NY

| |

CananYC

POC:
Stephen Smeulders
585.278.3043
smeulders1000@gmail.com

Registration

NOR

SI

Current Registrants

Toilet Bowl

Start date: August 7, 2021

End date: August 8, 2021

Location: Cazenovia, NY

| |

download

Held annually since 1968.

POC: Al Marshall alm@almarshall.com

Finn Summer Seriea #3 BuccYC

Date: August 28, 2021

Location: Buccaneer YC

|

BurgeeFB_200px.gif

News

SOLO is on the way

SOLO is on its way! The previous editions are available online at http://www.finnusa.org/regional-news/ Stop limiting yourself and start sailing Finn! Join USAFA at http://www.finnusa.org/join-the-class/

2021 Great Lakes Championship

The 2021 Great Lakes Championship had been scheduled to take place over the weekend, 10 to 11 July 2021. Unfortunately, the upcoming thunderstorms prevented the Sunday racing, which was handled with ease by the competent race committee of the North Cape Yacht Club. The PRO had been ready to take on the challenge and planned

Long Beach U.S.Open

Light conditions greeted the Finn Fleet at the US Open Sailing Series Olympic Classes regatta in Long Beach, California. “AJ” Nosar continued where he left off at the SDYC Olympic Classes regatta battling out the overall lead w/ San Diego’s Rob Coutts, but leading after day one. Multiple race winners including U25 Peter Sangmeister, James

2021 NAC – Register Today!

Registration is now open for the 2021 Finn North American Championship in Pass Christian, MS – 30 September to 03 October. Register today!

Registration is open for GLC and Tune-Up Regatta

Registration is now open for the 2021 Great Lakes Championship and Canandaigua Tune-up Regatta. Register Today!

This is the home of the North American Finn Sailing where you will find our race calendar, information on regattas, sailing technique and advice, a forum & marketplace plus all the info you need to start Finn sailing.

The Finn is an outstanding boat originally designed by Rickard Sarby for a contest to find a boat for Scandinavian sailing and the 1952 Olympics.  Since then it has been featured in every Olympics.

An outstanding technical boat that favors boat handling and tactics over straight line speed.  With the unlimited pumping downwind in over 10 kts, it is a truly physical boat that rewards the athlete willing to work hard.

Most dinghies are built for smaller stature people but not so the Finn.  The Finn is a big man's boat with average crew weight over 200 lbs.

The great attraction of the Finn is that you don’t need a brand new boat to be competitive – top regattas are regularly won by 10-yr-old boats.

A growing route in for sailors on a budget is the ‘Classic with Carbon’ option – any pre-1985 hull super-charged with a second-hand modern rig. Classic boats are warmly welcomed at all NA Finn Class events and are often seen in the top 10 with the Modern Race Boats.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

 

 

Share this