Class Contacts:

Peter Frissell – President president@finnusa.org
Darrell Peck – Honorary president  darrell.peck@gmail.com
Glenn Selvin – Treasurer  treasurer@finnusa.org
Rodion Mazin – Secretary  secretary@finnusa.org
Marcus Ward – Webmaster webmaster@finnusa.org
Terry Greenfield – Chief Measurer measurer@finnusa.org

USAFA Regions

Rob Coutts – So Cal  socal@finnusa.org
Michael Kennedy – Nor Cal norcal@finnusa.org
Marcus Ward – Mountain  rockymountain@finnusa.org
James Bland – Texas  texas@finnusa.org
Peter Frissell – Midwest  midwest@finnusa.org
Paul Rees – South  south@finnusa.org
Al Marshall – East  east@finnusa.org

Upcoming 2019 dates:       2019 Schedule            2020 Schedule

August 10-11: Toilet Bowl Regatta, Willow Bank Yacht Club, Cazenovia, NY
August 16-20: CORK OCR, Portsmouth Olympic Harbour, Kingston, ON (Registration link)
August 23-25: NAC, Mission Bay Yacht Club, San Diego, CA (Registration link)      September 14-15: PCC, San Diego Yacht Club, San Diego, CA (Registration link)
Oct 5-6: Finn Gulf Coast Championships, Buccaneer YC, Mobile, AL
Oct 19-20: Jack Dane Finn Regatta, Pass Christian Yacht Club, Pass Christian, MS

News

NACs are back on the WS calendar!

Finn North American Championship is back on the WS calendar as a 100 point event. All sailors have to comply with the conditions of entry, be the current active member of USAFA/IFA, have a valid sail number, and acquire WS sailors ID. For more details click here. To register, visit the event website.

0 comments

Henry Sprague wins his third Legends Trophy

Today, Henry Sprague won his third title at Skovshoved Finn World Masters. He placed 12th overall in the fleet of 240 boats. More information about final results can be found at the Finn World Masters website. Congratulations Henry!

0 comments

Finn World Masters 2019

Finn World Masters 2019 starts today in Skovshoved, Denmark. Follow our sailors at https://www.manage2sail.com/…/b5a20cc7-61ec-4a1c-a4ca-1f698… USA/Canada entries: Charles Heimler (USA 32), Hans Claesson (USA 155), Henry Sprague (USA 74), James Hunter (USA 23), Kay Statz (USA 13), Michael Mark (USA 117), and Derek Mess (CAN 115) Good luck!    

0 comments

This is the home of the North American Finn Sailing where you will find our race calendar, information on regattas, sailing technique and advice, a forum & marketplace plus all the info you need to start Finn sailing.

The Finn is an outstanding boat originally designed by Rickard Sarby for a contest to find a boat for Scandinavian sailing and the 1952 Olympics.  Since then it has been featured in every Olympics.

An outstanding technical boat that favors boat handling and tactics over straight line speed.  With the unlimited pumping downwind in over 10 kts, it is a truly physical boat that rewards the athlete willing to work hard.

Most dinghies are built for smaller stature people but not so the Finn.  The Finn is a big man’s boat with average crew weight over 200 lbs.

The great attraction of the Finn is that you don’t need a brand new boat to be competitive – top regattas are regularly won by 10-yr-old boats.

A growing route in for sailors on a budget is the ‘Classic with Carbon’ option – any pre-1985 hull super-charged with a second-hand modern rig. Classic boats are warmly welcomed at all NA Finn Class events and are often seen in the top 10 with the Modern Race Boats.