Class Contacts: Peter Frissell – President president@finnusa.org Darrell Peck – Honorary president  darrell.peck@gmail.com Glenn Selvin – Treasurer  treasurer@finnusa.org Rodion Mazin – Secretary  secretary@finnusa.org Marcus Ward - Webmaster webmaster@finnusa.org Terry Greenfield - Chief Measurer measurer@finnusa.org

                       USAFA Regions

Rob Coutts – So Cal  socal@finnusa.org Michael Kennedy - Nor Cal norcal@finnusa.org Marcus Ward – Mountain  rockymountain@finnusa.org James Bland - Texas  texas@finnusa.org Will Libcke (acting) – Midwest  midwest@finnusa.org Noel Miller (acting) – South  south@finnusa.org Al Marshall – East  east@finnusa.org Upcoming 2020 dates:

GYA Finn Championship

Start date: October 3, 2020

End date: October 4, 2020

Location: Bucaneer YC, Mobile AL

|

Oct, 3-4 GYA Finn Championship One Design

2020 North American Masters Championship

Start date: October 8, 2020

End date: October 11, 2020

Location: Austin Yacht Club - Lake Travis

| |

2020 North American Masters Championship (registration website pending)

News

2020 Finn Pacific Coast Championship

San Diego, CA (September 14, 2020) Twenty-five Finn’s flocked to San Diego Yacht Club this weekend for two days of the 2020 Finn Pacific Coast Championship. Among those sailors were those new to the fleet, those known for the fleet, and many active, enthusiastic competitors excited to be out on the water in their single-handed boats. Seven

Henry Sprague schools San Diego fleet at OCR

Fantastic singlehanded weekend at the San Diego Yacht Club!  Seventeen Finns on the starting line, proper ashore COVID safety procedures, plenty of space, and off the charts unreal sailing. Henry Sprague took the lead on the first day and didn’t let go of the victory with nearly a perfect score of 7 points. Mike Dorgan

2020 North American Chamiopnship

The registration is now open for the 2020 North-American Championship. Visit https://www.regattanetwork.com/event/21032 for more details!

August OCR at SDYC – new COVID edition – single handed boats only!

-Ready to SAIL/Race your FINN?? Great news! SDYC will be hosting the OCR in AUGUST!!! Due to COVID, Social Distancing will be implemented and only the Finn, Laser and Laser Radial will be racing OCR- so more racing/sailing area for the Finns!! Already 12 Finns signed up- Expecting 20+ Finns! Please LMK if any questions-

2020 Nationals and North American Championship changes

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the class leadership with the support of our members made a decision to shift the U.S. National Championship to the Pass Christian YC, MS in the first half of November 2020 and the North American Championship to the Coconut Grove YC, FL 17-20 December 2020. More details will be available

This is the home of the North American Finn Sailing where you will find our race calendar, information on regattas, sailing technique and advice, a forum & marketplace plus all the info you need to start Finn sailing.

The Finn is an outstanding boat originally designed by Rickard Sarby for a contest to find a boat for Scandinavian sailing and the 1952 Olympics.  Since then it has been featured in every Olympics.

An outstanding technical boat that favors boat handling and tactics over straight line speed.  With the unlimited pumping downwind in over 10 kts, it is a truly physical boat that rewards the athlete willing to work hard.

Most dinghies are built for smaller stature people but not so the Finn.  The Finn is a big man's boat with average crew weight over 200 lbs.

The great attraction of the Finn is that you don’t need a brand new boat to be competitive – top regattas are regularly won by 10-yr-old boats.

A growing route in for sailors on a budget is the ‘Classic with Carbon’ option – any pre-1985 hull super-charged with a second-hand modern rig. Classic boats are warmly welcomed at all NA Finn Class events and are often seen in the top 10 with the Modern Race Boats.

Share this